Day 21 Blog Challenge — A Year of 30 Day Challenges — No Matter What!!

THOUGHT OF THE DAY: “Excellence is an art won by training and habituation. We do not act rightly because we have virtue or excellence, but we rather have those because we have acted rightly. We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit.” –Aristotle

Challenges are actually generally created to simplify things.  There is a big goal that someone has and they are having difficulty reaching it for whatever reasons.  So you sign up for a challenge, and break it down into smaller, bite size pieces, a little bit each day, consistently, and then at the end, you have that habit nicely in place.  Creating a significant step closer to reaching the goal.  What’s funny is that apparently I must complicate everything.  Must.  Everything.  So I’ve researched ideas, blogged about my plan to do a year’s worth of 30 day challenges, written down my goals and analyzed the challenges so that if any can be combined, I can do so, prioritized the challenges based on the importance of the goals for me, looked at the calendar and blocked out time frames, listed any items that would need to be bought for the upcoming challenge in January, started thinking about all the who, what, when, where, why’s of it all.  So, if I can pull myself together enough to do all this, then why do I have so much trouble doing that thing that I want to do in the first place!?!?  LOL

Although this is how I operate very often, I wouldn’t necessarily encourage anyone else to do it in this way.  Just pick a challenge, and do it each day, No matter what.  So I have come to accept many of my quirks, even embrace them a little bit, laugh at them sometimes, and then move on to do what I need to do.  No matter what.  That has been key for me lately.  I wish I had picked up that thought pattern when I was much younger.  Much, much more would have gotten done.  This morning I was tired, running late, still thick in the brain from a deep, much needed sleep.  I went to the kitchen to make my daily morning healthy tea.  Well, I can’t find the pot, I’ll just skip today.  Well I can’t find my travel cup, I’ll just skip it today.  Well I’m already running late and don’t have time, I’ll just skip it today.  Oh wait.  Make that tea.  No matter what.  Start each day in the best way I can, No matter what.  Just that quick I have a shift in attitude and perspective that I already know will effect me throughout the day.  Make no mistake, I do have to keep reminding myself, to just do things, No matter what, throughout the course of each day.  But after a small amount of time with practice on it, it has become second nature, causing me to get things done, and sometimes, making me actually have to work harder to not get it done!!  Today I’m crazy busy, family, work projects, business errands for myself as well as my mom, on and on and on.  I’m just going to skip blogging today.  Oh wait.  Get that blog done.  It’s something that is very important to me and helps me in all kinds of ways in my life.  Get it done.  No matter what.  And then here it is!!  Just like that!!  Life and all of it’s distractions will always be there all around us.  I for one, am tired of letting this stop me from the progress I want, and need, to be making.  I’m going to do it, No matter what!!!

Well these are my thoughts, what do YOU think??

