Uncategorized

Day 35 Blog Challenge — Seeds of Life Gardens

A Nursery and Tree Farm

Plant Them And Watch Them Grow!!

Have you ever had visions of owning your own business? Do you have one specific idea, that you know you would like to do, or have you had many ideas over the years?  How do you know which one is the right one for you? This has been a dream of mine for many years.  I have had a few ideas that I love.  Some of them have stuck in the front of my mind and heart longer than others.  This is how I know which ones are the right ones for me.  The next thing in helping me decide has been to do my homework.  Researching the pros and cons, the realities of each.  There has been a lot of time involved in this step.  But I have come to find that starting a business is no small project.  It is not for the faint of heart.  It is very personal.  And we want it to grow and thrive.  There will be a lot of time, work and money involved.  So we take it very seriously.  I would encourage you to do the same with yours.  While we have a lot of fun along the way, of course!!  The business project I will be talking about here is my Seeds of Life Gardens, Nursery and Tree Farm ((Plant Them and Watch Them Grow!!)).  Come along with me, on my journey, while learning about the steps necessary to start a small business for yourself!!

Step 1:  Define your goals.

Questions to ask yourself:  Do you want a business that provides you with financial independence?  Do you want a business that is small and sustainable, doing something that you love, from which you can derive a steady income?

Step 2:  Choose an idea.

Questions to ask yourself:  Are you interested in selling a product you’ve always wanted to create?  Are you considering providing a service that you have a passion for, that is near and dear to your heart? Could it be a product or service for which you know there is a need?

Step 3:  Create a working name for your company, product or service.

Questions to ask yourself:  Is this name already being used by someone else?  What would be a name that is memorable, simple, and easy to pronounce?

Step 4:  Define your team.

Questions to ask yourself:  Will I be doing this business alone or will I be bringing in some trusted friends to work with me?  What are my strengths and weaknesses?

Step 5:  Choose your team wisely.

Questions to ask yourself:  Do the people I am considering for my team complement my weaknesses? Do we see eye to eye on various things, such as how to run a business, business and personal financials, the long term goal that we have for the business?

In future blogs I will elaborate further on each of these steps, as well as begin moving into the next steps that need to be taken!!  These steps are only the beginning of the adventure!!  I would love your feedback, thoughts, ideas!!

Well these are my thoughts, what do YOU think??

