inspiration

Project: South Austin WordPress Meetup Group

I’m working on a project with WordPress right now that I’m very excited about!  I’ve been attracted to the idea of blogging for many years.  But to say that I am technologically challenged is an understatement the size of the Grand Canyon.  I feel like I learn a thousand new things every day but that’s not enough.  Right behind those there are a thousand more.

One night, a few years ago, I decided to face that fear.  I sat down at my laptop and created a blog in WordPress.  I’d read and heard many times that it was super user friendly and that it was set up so that anyone could do it.  Of course, I thought, anyone but me.  Nevertheless, I dove in.  I took the Blogging 101 Challenge and the Writing 101 Challenge.  I made a bit of progress and it was fun.  I was inspired and hooked.  Then life happened.  My blogging got put on the back burner for quite a long time.  It always stayed in the back of my mind and recently I have begun pursuing it again, with a vengeance.

I searched for WordPress activities in my area.  I didn’t have much success with finding classes, but I did find the The Austin WordPress Meetup Group.   Without hesitation I joined the group and attended a meeting.  The topic covered and the speaker were great.  The other people in attendance were super friendly and so willing to share their experience and knowledge.  I absolutely loved it.  Then life happened.  And I was unable to attend the regular meetings on Monday nights.  But that first meeting was enough to reignite the fire in me to do this.  I kept my eyes open for any meeting scheduled for a day I could attend.  This was how I was going to learn to WordPress.  One thing led to another and now I am coordinating a WordPress meetup of my own, as a branch off of the main group.  We are growing our WordPress community.

My first meeting will be held next Wednesday and it will be a panel discussion, Q&A, hands-on workshop.  Several of the members of the main group have stepped up to be panelists.  I’ve strived to create a win-win environment for both speakers and attendees.  From the questions asked by the attendees, speakers will have the opportunity to find out what the WordPress users need assistance with.  This allows them to grow their freelancing and consulting businesses.  On the other hand, attendees will have the opportunity to bring their laptops and blogsites / websites, and get specific tips and tools for anything they may be having problems with.  My aim for this workshop is that we all do some learning, have some fun, and leave with fresh ideas and feeling inspired.

I hope to grow The South Austin WordPress Meetup Group.  My ideas at the present time are to have 3rd Wednesdays of each month cover a particular topic related to blogging and WordPress, one day per month will be Blog Time!, which will be a day when bloggers can just separate themselves from day to day life and business and just blog, and once a month have a WordPresser’s Social Hour, socializing, networking, having fun.

I have also signed up for the WordCamp ATX 2017 committee.  The plan is to hold this event sometime in late 2017.  I am extremely excited about the people I have met and the opportunities that this brings.

In the meantime, I’m expanding my knowledge, exercising my courage muscles, meeting great people and having a lot of fun along this journey.

I would encourage anyone wanting to do something to keep on with the keepin’ on.  There is a way to get it done.  It may not be obvious and it may not be easy, but with a little courage and creative thinking, there are ways to be found.  We have to be willing to look for it and be open to it.

Please share any of your own experiences and comments below!  I would love to hear your thoughts!

Until next time!  LET YOUR LIGHT SHINE!!

 

 

 

 

 

Well these are my thoughts, what do YOU think??

