inspiration

Project: Lil Owl’s Little Free Library

I’m working on a project with an organization called Little Free Library and it is awesome!  It’s been several years since I first saw a LFL in someone’s front yard as I was driving down the street and fell in love with the idea instantaneously!  A free book exchange with neighbors and communities!  What a fabulous thing!  I googled it right away and found that they are everywhere!  They’ve been around for quite a while!  These folks have been having all this fun without me!  Lol

A couple of weeks ago, I ordered my charter number and sign, joined the LFL Steward’s facebook page, and created a Lil Owl’s LFL facebook page.  I have already received many very warm welcomes and super fun ideas on all things LFL.  This community of folks is incredible!  I am very happy and honored to be a part of it.

Lil Owl’s LFL is a family project including, myself, my 3 children, ages 27, 21, 19 my granddaughter, age 2 ½ and my 71 year old mother.  A strong love of reading, books and writing has been a part of our lives always.  Our library is named after my granddaughter, Athena.  The owl is the symbol of the goddess Athena.  She always has one on her shoulder because she is the goddess of wisdom and the owl is considered to be wise.

We’re currently in the process of getting the library and books so that we can get up and running.  We’d love for our LFL to be in the shape of a schoolhouse or a barn.  But that may not be possible right now.  Both buying the library from the LFL catalog or a supply store and having it built are more costly than we can afford at this time.  But we will not let that stop us from making this project a success.  We’re being creative and resourceful and looking at different options to make it happen.   The Little Free Library organization has an Impact Fund.  We’ve applied for this program and are waiting to hear back to see if we are chosen as recipients.  If so, we’ll be ecstatic at whatever we can receive from them.

In the meantime, I’ve utilized the LFL World Map to find other libraries already in existence in our area.  There are 5 nearby.  We’ll be reaching out to these fellow library stewards on the possibility of a community event, such as a Library Crawl, same concept as a pub crawl, as well as the neighborhood elementary school.

Also, I’m creating Lil Owl’s Little Free Library business cards and flyers.  I read the idea on the LFL facebook page and love it.  I’ll distribute the cards to garage sales, the idea being that once the sale is over, if they have any books left that didn’t get sold, they may wish to donate them to our library.  Flyers will go up at nearby businesses such as Half Price Books, HEB, schools, public libraries, anywhere that has a community board where we are allowed to hang up our flyer.

Well, I think that’s about it for now!!  We will continue on our adventure and I’ll keep you posted on our progress!!

I’d love to hear back from you, your thoughts and comments, perhaps your experiences with your own Little Free Library!!

Until next time, LET YOUR LIGHT SHINE!!

You can learn more about Little Free Library here:  www.littlefreelibrary.org

You can see the LFL facebook page here:  https://www.facebook.com/LittleFreeLibrary

And you can see Lil Owl’s LFL’s facebook page here:  https://www.facebook.com/Lil-Owls-Little-Free-Library

Well these are my thoughts, what do YOU think??

