Lists of Tens #3 – 10 Awesome Facts About The Moon That I’ve Learned

Blue, Forest, Sky, Moon, Face, Eyes, Outdoor, Trees

The idea for this List of Ten came to me this morning.  Yesterday evening I was reading a blog post about 50 ways to generate part time income.  One of the suggestions was from the writer of the blog, whose information I don’t have because I accidentally deleted the email.  Anyway, they would pay people to write Lists of Tens for their blog.  I thought I would give that a try.  1)  I love creating lists.  2)  I recently decided to do Lists of Tens Thursdays on my blog.  So I began thinking about topics I could create a list about.  They asked for interesting write ups on things such as science and others.  When I stepped out on my porch first thing this morning, it was still dark and the moon was high and bright in the sky, with all its glory, mystery and magnificence.  Now I think it’s odd that I’ve never researched the moon before.  I’ve always been very intrigued by it and unexplainably connected to it.  It’s my family name.  But now, after creating this list, I will do further study on it.  Quite interesting indeed.

La Luna.  She is exquisite and magical.

In an article I found:  http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/space/moon.html, I learned:

The moon is not a planet but a satellite of the earth.  It is the earth’s only natural satellite.

The surface area of the moon is 14,658,000 square miles or 9.4 billion acres.

Only 59% of the moon’s surface is visible from earth.

The moon rotates at 10 miles per hour compared to the earth’s rotation of 1000 miles per hour.

There are mountains on the moon, the tallest one being Mons Huygens, which is just over half the height of Mt. Everest.

The moon does not have an atmosphere or weather.

On https://sservi.nasa.gov/articles/nasa-scientist-jen-heldmann-describes-how-the-earths-moon-was-formed/, I learned:

The average surface temperature of the moon during the day is 107 degrees Celsius and -153 degrees Celsius at night.

The moon was formed 4.5 billion years ago, about 30-50 million years after the origin of the solar system out of debris thrown into orbit by a massive collision between a smaller proto-earth and another planetoid about the size of Mars.

The moon always shows us the same face, but how can that be since both the earth and the moon are orbiting and rotating.

In various places around our country there are moon trees growing, also known as American moon trees.  Apollo 14 astronaut Stuart Roosa, who worked for the U.S. Forest Service prior to his trip to the moon, took a collection of tree seeds with him.  Then replanted them upon returning home.

These are only a few of the interesting facts I found on these websites mentioned above.  There were many more and many more websites that looked like they had excellent, legitimate information on them.  Seems like I have found myself a new study topic.

Well these are my thoughts, what do YOU think??

