Lists of Tens #4 – 10 Things I’ve Learned About The U.S. Bill of Rights

I never write about political stuff.  I’ve never considered myself informed enough.  I grew up thinking that politics were for all them other folks, and the smart folks.  I didn’t learn that my opinion and my voice mattered.  Of course, this is by my own doing.  Or, not doing, I suppose is more correct.  With that said, I recognize the importance of changing that with myself, and with my children.  I do believe that we are lucky to live in this country.  Although it is not perfect by far, there are many worse things going on in other places.  I am learning about governmental and political issues, really for the first time, due to a combination of recent circumstances, one is my classes in the Free Minds program, which I will write about as a Project blog post, and the other is the 2016 Election.  I am using my blog space to write about these topics because I’ve learned that the activity of writing a blog post forces me to think things through very clearly and get those thoughts very organized.  And for some other reasons as well, but I’m not trying to get into all that kind of a journal writing here and now.  Over election time this year, I have found it very interesting to hear everyone’s thoughts and opinions on the subject matter.  Everyone has very interesting and diverse ways of looking at and understanding things.  So I would like to ask that you be kind and patient with me as I write about this topic and learn and grow.  If I get something wrong in my write up, please feel free to correct me, as this is how we learn.  Or at least I do, I should only speak for myself.

In 1789 Congress transmitted to the state Legislatures 12 proposed amendments to the Constitution.

Numbers 3-12 were adopted by the states to become The United States Bill of Rights, effective December 15, 1791.

The Founding Fathers are individuals, not necessarily all, but some individuals who had a significant impact on the Constitution either directly or indirectly.  George Washington, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, George Mason, Gouverneur Morris, Roger Sherman, James Wilson, Edmund Randolph

Amendment I:  Protects the rights of religion, speech, the press, assembly and petition.

Amendment II:  Protects the rights to bear arms.

Amendment III:  Protects the rights from housing of soldiers.

Amendment IV:  Protects the rights from searches and arrest warrants.

Amendment V:  Protects the rights in criminal cases.

Amendment VI:  Protects the rights to fair trials.

Amendment VII:  Protects the rights in civil cases.

Amendment VIII:  Protects the rights regarding bails, fines and punishments.

Amendment IX:  Protects rights retained by the people.

Amendment X:  Protects rights retained by the states and the people.

As resources for these notes I have used http://www.constitutionfacts.com/ and my notes from my class in the Free Minds Program.

As a follow up to this list, I would like to create a list where each amendment has been involved as the subject of a court case.  I think that would be such an interesting research project.  I would also like to create a list of ten items of interest about each Founding Father.

 

Well these are my thoughts, what do YOU think??

